Wonderland Anthology Is An Essential Read For Fans Of Alice's Adventures

“Wonderland” Anthology Is An Essential Read For Fans Of Alice’s Adventures

Ever since its publication back in 1865, Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland has captivated readers of all ages, providing the source material for countless movies and TV shows. Now, in a new anthology of works inspired by Alice’s character, Wonderland editors Marie O’Regan and Paul Kane present readers with 19 refreshing tales (including one poem) that take readers to every corner of Alice’s world including drawing on the real-life circumstances surrounding its creation.

The original Alice novels are very special tales that have stayed with us since childhood, but Wonderland easily qualifies as a respectable adult companion for the fans.

The cast of writers in this collection is legendary. Jonathan Green, for example, is a powerhouse in speculative fiction and has more than fifty books to his name. Well known for his contributions to the Fighting Fantasy range of adventure gamebooks, he has also written fiction for such diverse properties as Doctor Who, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Warhammer, Warhammer 40,000, Sonic the Hedgehog, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Moshi Monsters and Judge Dredd.

Robert Shearman, another contributor, has won the World Fantasy Award for best collection, and was also shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize and nominated for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize.

Within Wonderland pages, we will find myriad approaches to Alice, from horror to historical, taking us from the nightmarish reaches of the imagination to tales that will shock, surprise and tug on the heart-strings. Authors such as Allison Littlewood and Cavan Scott, for example, make the more outlandish elements their own, while James Lovegrove draws on the supernatural.

There’s even a Wild West tale from Angela Slatter and a story by Laura Mauro which presents us with a very different Wonderland, inspired by Japanese folklore.

Overall, besides the diversity of tales, the quality of the stories in this anthology is something that stands out. The talents contributing to Wonderland, are very special themselves and their unique approaches have resulted in some of the best fantastical fiction about Alice out there.

The original Alice novels are very special tales that have stayed with us since childhood, but Wonderland easily qualifies as a respectable adult companion for the fans. We highly recommend this to all readers of fantastical fiction and Alice’s fans.

What we liked
Diverse collection stories
An all-star talented cast of writers
High quality plots
Recommended for
Fans of Alice's novels
Fantastical Fiction Fans
4

Log In

Enter username or email
More Stories
Film Review Aileen Life and Death of a Serial Killer
Review Of Documentary Film “Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer”