The Mountains Wild Series Debut By Sarah Stewart Taylor Set In NYC And Dublin

The Mountains Wild: Series Debut By Sarah Stewart Taylor Set In NYC And Dublin

The Mountains Wild by Sarah Stewart Taylor is a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson. In a story set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D’arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D’arcy’s family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin’s movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager.

When the Gardaí call to say that Erin’s scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin’s coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

This is an an excellent mystery story and so well plotted and thought out. We couldn’t figure out and solve the mystery until the very end.

A highly recommended title for the fans of suspense novels, thrillers with European settings and whodunit mysteries.

*****

Sarah Stewart Taylor is the author of the Sweeney St. George series and the Maggie D’arcy series. Taylor grew up on Long Island in New York and was educated at Middlebury College in Vermont and Trinity College in Dublin. She lived in Dublin, Ireland in the mid-90s and she now lives with her family on a farm in Vermont where they raise sheep and grow blueberries.

*****

Mystery Tribune’s past coverage and reviews of the most notable books in crime, mystery and thriller genre is available here.

Reader Rating0 Votes
What we liked
Suspenseful and well-written plot
Recommended for
Fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson
Readers of suspense novels
3.7

Log In

Enter username or email
More Stories
Suspense Flash Fiction Sweet Tooth By Andre DeCuir
Suspense Flash Fiction: Sweet Tooth By Andre DeCuir