A Conversation with Allan Topol, Author of “Washington Power Play”

Allan Topol Washington Power Play his 13th novel of international intrigue. Two of Topol’s novels, Spy Dance and Enemy My Enemy, were national best sellers. Characterized by critics as fast-paced thrillers, one of his novels was recently optioned and three are in development for movies. A graduate of Yale University Law School, he is a…

Read More

A Conversation with Lee Irby, Author of “Unreliable”

The new thriller by Lee Irby titled “Unreliable“, which Doubleday is publishing on April 18th, is the story of a charming college professor who most definitely did not—but maybe did—kill his ex-wife. Or someone else. Or no one. Edwin Stith, a failed novelist and college writing instructor in upstate New York, is returning home for…

Read More

Kent Lester on Writing the Scientific Thriller “The Seventh Sun”

The Seventh Sun is a science-based thriller about Black Swans: not the bird, but the event.  Black swan events are those sudden and unpredictable disasters that tend to turn our world upside down. The idiom originated in the sixteenth century among scientists to represent an idea or theory that didn’t exist, because at the time,…

Read More

A Conversation with Melissa Scrivner Love, author of Lola

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love marks the debut of an exciting new thriller voice. The author combines the genius and ferocity of Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander with the ruthless ambition of Walter White in Breaking Bad. When reviewing this title, it was impressive to see how Melissa’s thriller grips the reader till the very last page (Read…

Read More

A Conversation with Gretchen Archer, Author of “Double Up”

If cozy mystery is your cup of tea, Double Up from The Davis Way series by Gretchen Archer is a great pick. Double Up, the new installment by this triple USA Today-bestselling author is a tale about a casino under fire from a rival, mob connections and Davis Way being nosy (Read our review here). What…

Read More

A Conversation with Amy Engel Author of “The Roanoke Girls”

As a child, Amy Engel spent summers visiting her grandparents in the small Kansas town where her mother was raised. Many years later, the small town memories became an inspiration for writing her first suspense thriller The Roanoke Girls after publishing various YA novels. What comes below, is a conversation with the author on the new…

Read More

A Conversation with Reed Farrel Coleman on “What You Break”

Reed Farrel Coleman is one of the few people out there who all the critics seem to like. NPR has referred to him as “a hard-boiled poet”, The Huffington Post says, “Coleman is the resident noir poet laureate of the United States” and The New York Times has commented, “If you dragged one (of his books)…

Read More

Burt Solomon Discusses “The Murder of Willie Lincoln”

As a Washington insider, Burt Solomon covered the White House and many other aspects of Washington life during the first Bush presidency and President Bill Clinton’s first term. He has written articles for The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, and The Boston Globe, and has won the Gerald R. Ford Prize for Distinguished…

Read More

A Conversation with Brad Parks, Author of “Say Nothing”

Brad Parks is the new addition to Dutton’s list of powerhouse mystery authors. His new thriller Say Nothing is a suspenseful and riveting read. As Library Journal wrote in recent starred review (one of three starred reviews for this novel), “Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone.”…

Read More

A Conversation with David Joy, Author of “The Weight of This World”

Where All Light Tends to Go, the debut novel of David Joy, garnered widespread acclaim among critics, who deemed the literary crime novel a “beautiful, brutal book” and “remarkable”. Evoking comparisons to the work of such luminaries of Southern fiction as Flannery O’Connor, Cormac McCarthy, Ron Rash, and Daniel Woodrell, the novel was also a…

Read More

R.J. Koreto: “Mixing History and Mystery”

Under the name R.J. Koreto, I had published a couple of historical mysteries set in Edwardian England, when my publishers, Crooked Lane Books, came to me with an idea. “How about the same time period, but in New York? You do know that Teddy Roosevelt was police commissioner at one point?” I certainly did. Roosevelt…

Read More