A Dangerous Fiction: Do You Want To Read It?

A Dangerous Fiction by Barbara Rogan was sort of different from the typical stories we receive: It’s a story that happens in and around literary circles and you wonder whether the author got inspiration from her industry to write this book.

Overall, we liked this novel from the Long Island based professor of Fiction-Writing at SUNY and Writers Digest University. We recommend you to check this title as well.

A Dangerous Fiction: A Mystery Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City’s literati. At thirty-five, she’s the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan’s wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read—and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.